It did not take too long for Kik to become one of the most widely used instant messaging apps worldwide. The messenger has managed more than 100 million downloads ever since its launch. This goes on to tell how incredibly popular this app has become. But, being popular doesn’t mean that Kik poses no problems at all. In fact, there are many of them. One of the biggest issues is that there are many fake and spam account with Kik. Due to this, a lot of people feel uncomfortable and want to get rid of it. If you are the one who no longer wants to use Kik and wishes to delete the account, keep reading.
Deleting the messaging app permanently
One question that many people ask is, “What is the need to delete Kik account when all you need to do is remove the app from the phone?” That’s quite a reasonable question as uninstalling the app will make sure that you don’t get any spam messages. But, the point is, if you are not thinking about using this app in the near future, you may also not want to leave your personal information available to the other Kik users.
There is another reason why you would want to delete the account instead of just removing the app. If your account is active, your Kik connections will continue to see your account as active. Therefore, they might send messages, which you will certainly miss. But, if you have deleted the account, you will not be searchable on the app and hence everyone will know you are no longer active.
So, if you have finally made up your mind to delete the Kik account permanently, you may follow the steps outlined below.
Using the app to delete the account
It is extremely easy to remove the Kik account from the app itself. Here are the simple steps you can follow:
- First of all, launch the Kik app on your mobile phone (or any smart handheld device on which you may have installed it.)
- Find the Settings option and tap on it
- Now, inside Settings, you will see a button which reads, ‘Reset Kik Messenger’; tap on it
- A message will pop-up asking you to confirm your action; confirm by tapping Yes
Your Kik account will be deleted permanently along with the messaging history. You will not be able to use the Kik account anymore. In case you need to use Kik again, you will have to create a fresh account with them.
Deleting Kik account using your computer
Deleting the Kik account using your computer is also very easy. You can do that by visiting a URL. Here is how you can do that:
- Access the link https://ws.kik.com/deactivate from your browser
- You will see an email field; you will need to enter the same email address with which you created your Kik account.
- You will now receive an email with the link to deactivate the account; click on the link in the email
- Follow the simple onscreen instructions to delete the Kik account permanently.